A Women Carried Me on Her Back ( Japan Week 21)

Aubree and her crutches.

Aubree and her crutches.

This week has been kind of a weird week because on Wednesday night I sprained my ankle and now I can’t walk or ride a bike.

I was riding my bike and we were going to an appointment in the rain. I was on the road and decided to go on the side walk so I wouldn’t be next to the cars. When I tried to go up the lip of the sidewalk my bike slipped and I fell on my left side and twisted my right ankle. I was really lucky because I crashed right in front of a Circle K and two women saw me. They ran over and helped me get inside. When they saw that I couldn’t walk, one of them carried me on their back.

Then the people working at Circle K gave me a chair and some ice while they washed off my foot and my left knee that got scraped. It would have been worse too if I had not been wearing my rain coat because my knee didn’t touch the ground directly. After we had iced my ankle for 20 minutes one of the women took us home in her car and the Elders came and got our bikes for us. We were really close to home thankfully.

I went to the doctor the next day and the doctor told me it would be a week before I could walk. I have slowly been getting better. I am hoping to be able to walk within the next few days.

Sister Papenfuss and I have had a lot of time on our hands since we can’t go anywhere right now. We have been practicing music a lot at the church. To keep ourselves occupied we have told each other a bunch of stories. I told her the plot of a three book series. We sang movie themes for about an hour. We play a game of drawing a person while the other guesses who it is.

On Wednesday afternoon we had a good experience. We went to city hall and a bunch of different places down town. We were talking to a lot of people about service opportunities that we could do. We were able to talk to all of these people about why we are here in Japan because they all wondered why some Americans would want to do service for the city. We were able to find out the dates for all of the service projects for next month and are looking forward to helping.

I love you all!

Love, Sister Thompson

Note From Aubree:

The doctor said it would be about a week till I can walk. On Thursday I am going back to the doctor and they will give me a brace.

It happened Wednesday night. I wasn’t in a lot of pain because It surprised me so much. I will be on crutches for hopefully just a few more days. I tried standing today but it still puts a lot of strain on my foot.

The doctor was good, my companion is fluent so it was really easy. They took three X-Rays and it is just a sprain.

We asked Aubree how she got to the doctor, We took a taxi.

We speak in English, sometimes she tells me Japanese fairy tales in Japanese and I translate it into English for language study. She helps me write kanji too.

Well I started reading the old testament two days ago and am already past Genesis. We have been practicing music at the church for 2-3 hours everyday. and drawing pictures and guessing who it is. Telling stories. I told her the whole plot of a three book series.

Sister papenfuss wraped my foot for me. The wraping was took thick for me to feel the ice so we wrapped it with the ice packs haha.

Aubree sitting in her apartment hallway because they couldn't figure out how to move her.

Aubree sitting in her apartment hallway because they couldn’t figure out how to move her.

I had to sit by the front door for a while because we couldn’t figure out how to move me.

Sister Pappenfuss wrapping Aubrees's foot.

Sister Pappenfuss wrapping Aubrees’s foot.

This is how I got to the church a few times. The Elders pushed me on my bike.

To get Aubree to the church the Elders would push her on her bike.

To get Aubree to the church the Elders would push her on her bike.

The two in the picture is Elder Brown and Elder Graff. Elder Graff is in Fujieda area but was on a companion exchange with Elder Brown that day.

The night it happened the Elder bought us mochi ice cream. Mochi is really good with this thing called Anko. Which is a sweet bean paste.

Elder Brown and Elder Yamada gave me a blessing yesterday.

Yeah, well I have gone up the curb a bunch of times before so I wasn’t paying attention. I was mostly thinking about going fast so that we could get to our lesson on time.

I got these medicine pads from the doctor that are like compressors. I put them on my foot twice a day. Yeah I don’t know, I haven’t seen pads like these before. It is sticky on the side that you put on your foot and just feels like it has icy hot.

Categories: Discussions, Injured, Latter-Day Saints, Learning Japanese, Nagoya Japan, Preparation Day, Shizuoka Japan, Teaching | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

